10 POSITIONS PhD@IIT

IIT was founded with the objective of promoting Italy’s technological development and further education in science and technology. In this sense, IIT is committed to achieving its scientific program, which sees its major inspirational principle in the integration between basic scientific research and the development of technical applications.

Università degli Studi di Genova – Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia

 

A stepping-stone in your research career.

We offer 10 scholarships  for PhD positions available at the Università degli studi di Genova, Italy  and IIT Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Genova, Italy

IIT gives graduate students the opportunity to earn a doctoral degree by making good use of its state-of-the-art laboratories and facilities. All our supervisors have an international standing, interdisciplinarity is the rule and the environment is international; in short, if you want a challenging, but rewarding start for a career in research, we are here for you. 

IIT is not a degree-awarding body though.  

PhD students are registered at Università degli studi di Genova with which IIT has agreement  and which  awards the degree, and IIT provides the research environment and finances the bursaries that the University will eventually award to the students, after a public selection process. 

 

List of PhD programmes – see page 99 Curriculum: NANOCHEMISTRY (CODE 9308) for the Course: SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY OF CHEMISTRY AND MATERIALS

 

8 Openings in NANOCHEMISTRY

PhD Course in Science and Technology of Chemistry and Materials, curriculum "Nanochemistry" (Code 9308)

 

1. Phd Project "Development of colloidal nanocrystals and nanoheterostructures for energy related applications"
Tutor: Liberato Manna, Luca De Trizio | contact: liberato.manna@iit.it, luca.detrizio@iit.it
 
2. Phd Project "Electrochemical processes for water splitting and electric fuels production"
Tutor: Liberato Manna, Michele Ferri | contact: liberato.manna@iit.it, michele.ferri@iit.it

3. Phd Project "Spatial modulators and metasurfaces based on 2D and van der Waals materials"
Tutor: Michele Tamagnone |  contact: michele.tamagnone@iit.it

4. Phd Project "Reshaping the energy landscape of giant-shell semiconductor nanocrystals via light-matter hybridization"
Tutor: Andrea Toma | contact: andrea.toma@iit.it

5. Phd Project "Design of nanomaterials/nanostructures and photonic cavities for light-matter interaction"
Tutor: Roman Krahne | contact: roman.krahne@iit.it

6. Phd Project "Electron microscopy studies of nanocrystals for energy applications"
Tutor: Giorgio Divitini | contact: giorgio.divitini@iit.it

7. Phd Project "Synthesis of smart polymers and their use for the controlled assembly of inorganic nanoparticles"
Tutor: Teresa Pellegrino | contact: teresa.pellegrino@iit.it

8. Phd Project "From macro- to micro-batteries"

 

2 Openings in Physics and Nanosciences

Curriculum "Bio-Nanoscience" (code 9266)

 

1. Phd Project "Machine learning and large datasets for advanced nanostructure characterization"
Tutors: Ilka Kriegel, Giorgio Divitini | contact: ilka.kriegel@iit.it, giorgio.divitini@iit.it

2. Phd Project "Superlattices and quantum confinement in 2D materials via substrate effects"
Tutor: Michele Tamagnone | contact: michele.tamagnone@iit.it

PhD Course in Physics and Nanosciences, from the list of PhD programmes  –  see page 48: curriculum "Bio-Nanoscience" (code 9266)

 

IIT gives graduate students the opportunity to earn a doctoral degree by making good use of its state-of-the-art laboratories and facilities. All our supervisors have an international standing, interdisciplinarity is the rule and the environment is international; in short, if you want a challenging, but rewarding start for a career in research, we are here for you. 

IIT is not a degree-awarding body though.  

Full information is available at the general web page of the PhD programmes

Brochure (.pdf)
 

Deadline for application
June 30, 2022 at 12 PM, CET

PhD programmes

 

For administrative issues please contact dr.ssa Iulia Manolache: iulia.manolache@iit.it